Blog Tour

Tiger Queen Blog Tour and Review

Tiger Queen Book Cover Tiger Queen
Annie Sullivan
Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
BLINK
September 10th 2019

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Links

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository

The rest of the tour schedule can be found here.

About the Author

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Website: https://anniesullivanauthor.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/annsulliva

My Review

I received an advance review copy for free as part of a blog tour, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

This book is a standalone Fantasy novel with absolutely NO cliffhanger and that makes a change for me. I normally goes for books that have; 1. Cliffhangers; 2. Another book. But I must admit it was an alright book.

I liked the main character. She seemed to crave the approval of her father which kinda annoyed me. Yes I get that she was supposed to rule eventually and become Queen but it bugged me in ways that I don’t quite understand myself. In terms of character development she was a very developed character and I found myself liking her more and more. She was truly worthy of becoming Queen by the end of this book. I understood that she needed to be shaped into becoming a queen but that way in which she was I didn’t agree on. She was basically tormented to make her to be more worthy of ruling and it was awful to read about that.

The story line eventually became incredibly predictable which bored me. I wanted to be able to go into this book and not guess what was going to happen next especially with it being a standalone. But I need begin to guess everything that was happening.

I was also annoyed by the constant reminder of where it was set; in a dessert. It was constant and continuous. It needed to be eased upon the description and it would have made it better.

I love the action that happened throughout this book. Even though I mentioned that I was annoyed by how predictable the book was doesn’t mean I didn’t like the action.

Overall, this book was a good standalone book with just the right amount of action but way too much description of the landscape.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *