Book Review

Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee

Forest of Souls Book Cover Forest of Souls
Sharmanborn
Lori M. Lee
Page Street Kids
23rd June 2020
Hardback
400
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45554589-forest-of-souls

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.

And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life.

Unveiled as the first soulguide in living memory, Sirscha is summoned to the domain of the Spider King. For centuries, he has used his influence over the Dead Wood—an ancient forest possessed by souls—to enforce peace between the kingdoms. Now, with the trees growing wild and untamed, only a soulguide can restrain them. As war looms, Sirscha must master her newly awakened abilities before the trees shatter the brittle peace, or worse, claim Saengo, the friend she would die for.

Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan Dennard.

Foret of Souls is my first read for 2021 and I am so glad it was.

I devoured this book. I am so grateful that I subscribe to FairyLoot because without them I am not completely sure I would have even picked this book up.

Sirscha is an amazingly strong female character that this book needed. She drives this book to where it needs to be. Finding out she is the first soulguide in living memory, thursts her into a life she never imagined. She has spent her whole life being less of nothing. She has worked her whole life to become the Queen’s assassin only for it to be taken away from here.

We follow Sischa as she explores her power and uncovers secrets that she never though possible.

This book is amazing and the story telling is phenomenal. I’m so glad I read this book. I can not wait for the next book. This one finished on a huge cliffhanger and I hate them. They are the worst!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *